International Architectural Ideas Competition NMA



The Afghan Ministry of Information and Culture and the US Embassy in Kabul acknowledge the extraordinary design ideas that were submitted to the International Architectural Ideas Competition for the National Museum of Afghanistan. This competition attracted the interest from architects, urban planners and designers from more than one hundred and forty countries after its official announcement in March 2012. By the deadline in June 2012, seventy two eligible Design Proposals from thirty one countries had been received and subsequently evaluated by the appointed Jury. The Jury, chaired by HE Dr. Raheen, Minister for Information and Culture, and advised by Dr. Vartan Gregorian, President of Carnegie Corporation (New York) was impressed regarding the number and diversity of proposals submitted in response to the brief for the master plan of the museum site and the new museum building. The Jury’s decision for the winning design submissions is based on the clarity of the architectural concept that responds effectively to the programmatic, functional, technical, economic and security requirements in the brief, and the architectural quality of the proposed design as a whole. This decision ultimately recognizes the distinguished architectural quality of the winning proposed design solution. The Jury unanimously agreed to the following ranking:


I. Prize Winners Name of legal entity Country    
First Prize Winner AV62 ARQUITECTOS SLP Spain    details
Second Prize Winner Mansilla + Tuñón Arquitectos  Spain    details
Third Prize Winner fs-architekten Germany    details


The following three Design Proposals have been awarded Honorable Mentions, of equal ranking, for their submitted schemes for the NMA IAIC competition:    

II. Honorable Mention Name of legal entity Country    
Honorable Mention IAN+ architecture & engineering Italy    gallery
Honorable Mention Lawrence and Long Architects Ireland    gallery
Honorable Mention Luisa Ferro, Architect  Italy    gallery

III. Awards Ceremony